Advanced Micro and Nanosystems

Editorial Team

Oliver BrandOliver Brand is an Associate Professor in the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, USA. He received his diploma degree in Physics from Technical University Karlsruhe, Germany in 1990, and his Ph.D. degree (Doctor of Natural Sciences) from ETH Zurich, Switzerland in 1994. Between 1995 and 2002, he held research and teaching positions at the Georgia Institute of Technology (1995-1997) and ETH Zurich (1997-2002).
Dr. Brand has co-authored more than 100 publications in scientific journals and conference proceedings and two books. His research interest is in the areas of CMOS-based micro- and nanosystems, MEMS fabrication technologies, and microsystem packaging. Dr. Brand is on the editorial board of Sensors and Materials and has served on the program committees of a number of conferences, including MEMS and Eurosensors.
Gary K. FedderGary K. Fedder is the Howard M. Wilkoff Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Professor of The Robotics Institute and the Director of the Institute for Complex Engineered Systems (ICES) at Carnegie Mellon University. He received the B.S. and M.S. degrees in electrical engineering from MIT in 1982 and 1984, respectively. From 1984 to 1989, he worked at Hewlett-Packard on a VLSI IC tester and on modeling printed-circuit-board interconnect for high-speed computers. He received his Ph.D. in 1994 from U.C. Berkeley, successfully demonstrating the first microstructure with sigma-delta multi-mode electrostatic servo control. He is a subject editor for IEEE J. MEMS and on the editorial board of IoP J. Micromech. and Microengineering and IET Micro & Nano Letters. Professor Fedder has contributed to over 150 research publications and holds several patents in the MEMS area.
Professor Fedder's research interests include microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) modeling, simulation and synthesis, integration of MEMS and CMOS, microsensor design, microactuator control systems, and probe-based nanofabrication technologies.
Christofer HieroldChristofer Hierold has been a Professor of Micro and Nanosystems at ETH Zurich since April 2002. Previously, he was with Siemens AG, Corporate Research, and Infineon Technologies AG in Germany. His major areas of research and responsibility were microsystems, advanced CMOS processes and new materials. At ETH Zurich he started his research on the evaluation of new materials for MEMS, on advanced microsystems, and on nanotransducers. Christofer Hierold has been founding chairman of one of ETH Zurich's inter-departmental competence centers, the Micro and Nano Science Platform.
He is a member of the international steering committees of major conferences in the field (MEMS, TRANSDUCERS, EUROSENSORS), he is co-chair of MEMS2009, and he is a member of the editorial boards of IEEE/ASME Journal of Microelectromechanical Systems and of IoP Journal of Micromechanics and Microengineering.
Jan G. KorvinkJan G. Korvink Jan G. Korvink received his M.Sc. degree in mechanical engineering (specializing in computational mechanics) from the University of Cape Town, South Africa, in 1987, and his Ph.D. degree from the ETH-Zurich, Switzerland, in 1993.
After completing graduation, he joined the Physical Electronics Laboratory, ETH Zurich. In 1997, he joined the University of Freiburg, Freiburg, Germany, as full professor for microsystems engineering. In Freiburg he co-directed the Freiburg Institute for Advanced Studies (FRIAS). In 2015 he joined the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, where, besides directing the Institute of Microstructure Technology, he also acts as one of the speakers of the Helmholtz Programme "Science and Technology of Nanosystems". He is the author or coauthor of more than 160 journal publications in the broad area of microsystems. He is a founding Editor of Advanced Micro and Nanosystems, and the co-founder of two successful startup companies.
His research interests include the development of ultralow-cost micromanufacturing methods, microsystem applications in the area of magnetic resonance, and the design and simulation of micro- and nanosystems. He was the recipient of a Red Dot Design Concept Award in 2011, and a European Research Council Advanced Grant in the area of micro NMR metabolomics for the nematode C. elegans.
Osamu TabataOsamu Tabata received his M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from Nagoya Institute of Technology, Nagoya, Japan, in 1981 and in 1993, respectively. From 1981 to 1996, he performed industrial research at Toyota Central Research and Development Laboratories, Inc., in Aichi, Japan. In 1996, he joined the Department of Mechanical Engineering of Ritsumeikan University in Shiga, Japan. He spent three months each as Guest Professor at the Institute of Microsystem Technology, Freiburg University, Germany, in 2000 and at ETH Zurich, Switzerland, in 2001. In September 2003, he joined the Department of Mechanical Engineering, Kyoto University, Japan. From April 2005, he is Professor at the Department of Micro Engineering, Kyoto University. Professor Tabata is currently engaged in the research of micro/nano processes, MEMS and micro/nano system synthetic engineering (SENS). He serves as an associate editor of J. MEMS and is on the editorial boards of several journals, and a program committee member of numerous international conferences.
He was honored with the Science News Award in 1987, Presentation Paper Award in 1992, and received the R&D 100 Award in 1993 and 1998.
Founding Editor (retired)

As of August 2005, after the publication of AMN volume 4, Henry Baltes has retired from active editorship of AMN after significantly contributing to the inception and success of AMN and many prior years of successful publishing with Wiley-VCH in the field of sensors, MEMS and microelectronics. Both the editorial team and the publisher wish to thank Henry profoundly for his inspiring work and commitment!
Henry Baltes

Henry Baltes is Professor emeritus of Physical Electronics at ETH Zurich and the Director of the Physical Electronics Laboratory since 1988. As of June 1, 2004 he is on leave from his teaching and research duties and acts as Chairman of the ETH Zurich Center of Biosystems Science and Engineering to be established at Basel.

He is a Fellow of the IEEE and a Member of the Swiss Academy of Technical Sciences. Among his recent awards are the Körber European Science Award, the Wilhelm Exner Medal of the Austrian Trade Association, the degree of Doctor of Electrical Engineering (honoris causa) from the University of Waterloo, Ontario, Canada, the degree of Doctor of Electronic Engineering (ad honorem) of the Alma Mater Studiorum University of Bologna, Italy, and the Swiss Technology Award.

In 1996 he was Visiting Professor at Stanford University and the University of Waterloo. In 2002/03 he was Visiting Scientist at the Ritsumeikan University, the University of Bologna, and the University of Freiburg, Germany. He is a member of the Editorial Board of the Proceedings of the IEEE, the Search Committee of the Koerber Foundation, and the International Scientific Committee of the Advanced Research Center on Electronic Systems (ARCES) of the University of Bologna. He is a co-founder of the spin-off company SENSIRION. From 1991 to 1995 he was the program director of the Swiss National Priority Program LESIT.

From 1983 to 1988 he held the Henry Marshall Tory Chair in Electrical Engineering at the University of Alberta, Edmonton, Canada. As founding President of the Alberta Microelectronics Centre he directed the establishment of a CMOS end fabrication. He also was a co-founder and Director of LSI Logic Corporation of Canada. From 1974 to 1982 he worked for Landis & Gyr Zug (now Siemens) Switzerland and taught at EPF Lausanne. He received his D. Sc. degree from ETH Zurich in Physics in 1971.